Provisional Australian squad for the ICC 2023 World Cup

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has named the following men’s provisional 15-player squad for the ICC 2023 World Cup. A final 15-player squad is due to be confirmed to the ICC by September 28.

Provisional Australian World Cup squad:

Pat Cummins (NSW/Penrith Cricket Club) (c)

Sean Abbott (NSW/Parramatta District Cricket Club)

Ashton Agar (WA/University Cricket Club) 

Alex Carey (SA/Glenelg Cricket Club) 

Cameron Green (WA/Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club)

Josh Hazlewood (NSW/St George Cricket Club) 

Travis Head (SA/Tea Tree Gully Cricket Club)

Josh Inglis (WA/Joondalup Cricket Club) 

Mitchell Marsh (WA/Fremantle Cricket Club) 

Glenn Maxwell (VIC/Fitzroy Doncaster Cricket Club)

Steve Smith (NSW/Sutherland Cricket Club) 

Mitchell Starc (NSW/Manly Warringah Cricket Club) 

Marcus Stoinis (WA/Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club) 

David Warner (NSW/Randwick Petersham Cricket Club) 

Adam Zampa (NSW/Sutherland Cricket Club)


Chair of Selectors George Bailey said: “Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc and Glenn Maxwell are on track in their return to play programs. All are well placed to come back online in the coming weeks and potentially for selection in the upcoming series against India.

“There are eight one-day matches still to play in South Africa and India before the final squad is due to be declared. They are followed by two World Cup practice games, which offers plenty of opportunity to continue the build for the tournament.”