Marsh to skipper as Aussies name first ODI XI

Australia will line up under the leadership of Mitch Marsh in the first ODI in South Africa

'Proper bromance': Skippers revisit first Aussie tour in 2011

Allrounder Mitch Marsh will become Australia's 29th men's ODI captain when the one-day series against South Africa begins in Bloemfontein on Thursday.

The Australian camp named its side a day early, confirming the debutant skipper and a new-look middle order and bowling attack.

Australia XI: David Warner, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh (c), Cameron Green, Josh Inglis, Alex Carey, Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa

Regular captain Pat Cummins is expected to sit out most, if not all, of the five ODIs but David Warner, Cameron Green and Josh Hazlewood all return after missing the T20s.

Both wicketkeepers named in Australia's World Cup squad, Alex Carey and Josh Inglis, will bat in the middle order, while allrounders Cameron Green and Marcus Stoinis have been listed at No.4 and No.7 respectively. 

Mitchell Starc, Steve Smith and Glenn Maxwell will all miss the series due to injury despite all being named in the World Cup squad.

Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa will form a dual spin attack with the latter back after missing the final T20I in Durban with a neck concern having also been left for the first match with a virus.

Warner and Travis Head will take on the new ball after Marsh poured cold water on the prospect of him continuing in the role he shone in during Australia's last ODI campaign, against India in March.

Marsh averaged 97 in that series and went at a strike-rate of 131.08, to the point that when Warner returned for the final game it was the veteran who was moved down the order.

Despite that precedent, the 31-year-old said he expected to give up the role for the World Cup.

"I expect to bat middle order," Marsh told AAP, declaring Warner one of the format's greatest of all time.

"Things may change, but Davey is literally one of the GOATs of one-day cricket and white-ball cricket in general.

"We have Travis Head and Australia's best-ever all-three-format player there, so I dare say I probably won't be opening the batting."

Australia thrashed the Proteas in each of the three T20 encounters.

But with the hosts bolstered by the return of rested stars Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Kagiso Rabada, Heinrich Klaasen, and Anrich Nortje for the ODI series, Australia are bracing themselves for a tough challenge.

Klaasen looms as a big weapon for South Africa, with his class against spin and ability to hit big sixes set to play a key during the upcoming series.

"He's a big challenge. He's probably even more of a challenge now than he was a few years ago," Zampa said.

"He's one of the best players in the world at the moment.

"I played him at The Oval in The Hundred and saw it first hand.

"He's a pretty special player, so it's going to be a big challenge."

- with AAP

2023 Qantas ODIs v South Africa

September 7: First ODI, Bloemfontein (D/N), 9pm AEST

September 9: Second ODI, Bloemfontein (D/N), 9pm AEST

September 12: Third ODI, Potchefstroom (D/N), 9pm AEST

September 15: Fourth ODI, Centurion (D/N), 9pm AEST

September 17: Fifth ODI, Johannesburg, 6pm AEST

Australia ODI squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Tanveer Sangha, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

South Africa ODI squad: Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Brjor Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen